Technology

You are an employee of a storage manufacturer or a tech-savvy end customer? Find out more about the technology of STABL Energy inverters on this page and download our white paper today.

The inverter technology by STABL Energy

Inverters from STABL Energy are more than just a component of a battery storage system. Thanks to the innovative modular approach, they simplify the design of electricity storage systems and enable affordable, sustainable energy supplies for trade and industry. Compared to conventional products, energy losses are reduced by up to 70 % and operating costs are lowered by 40 % - all with almost the same investment costs. Find out more about the technology and what's behind the award-winning inverters here.

Hochvolt-Ansatz
STABL Ansatz

Conventional power storage systems consist of a high-voltage battery pack and a central inverter. Several permanently interconnected modules form the battery pack, which can have lethal voltages of up to 800 V. The central inverter converts this DC voltage into AC voltage suitable for the grid and thus connects the storage unit to the power grid. This results in energy losses that cost the operator money and also increase CO2 emissions.

With the technology by STABL Energy, the construction of electricity storage systems is considerably simplified. Instead of statically interconnecting the modules, our STABL modules interconnect them dynamically. The power storage is a conglomerate of absolutely safe battery modules with touch-safe voltages of less than 60 V. This approach makes the central inverter unnecessary. Compared to conventional systems, losses are reduced by up to 70 % and both operating costs and CO2 emissions are reduced by up to 40 % per year.

The advantages of the STABL technology

Efficiency

Scientific work at the Technical University of Munich showed the high efficiency of the STABL inverter. Values of up to 99.6 % have been determined. Compared to conventional inverters, losses are reduced by up to 70 %.

Save money

The high efficiency saves you money. Depending on the application, you can reduce your operating costs by up to 40 % by using power storage systems with STABL inverters and reach break-even earlier than with other systems.

Sustainability

Less energy loss also means that the available energy is used better. Because losses are reduced by up to 70 %, CO2 is saved with every storage process and you and your company take an active part in the energy transition - and save money at the same time.

Safety

With inverters from STABL Energy, electricity storage systems become safe. The touch-safe voltage of less than 60 V makes installation and maintenance child's play.

Fail safety

The modular approach guarantees almost complete availability. Our STABL modules automatically detect when a battery module deviates from its normal state and can isolate it from the rest of the storage. The entire storage system dows not have to be shut down because of a defective module, but can continue to be operated.

Cloud Architecture

Inverters from STABL Energy are intelligent and innovative. Our in-house developed software enables over-the-air updates and gives you insights down to cell level at any time.

Working principle

Sinus konventionell
Sinus STABL

Normal battery inverters switch the high voltage of the energy storage system on and off for different lengths of time. This process is called pulse width modulation. The resulting voltage must be smoothed by a so-called line filter so that it complies with the standards and requirements of the power grid. That costs efficiency and causes losses.

In science, the STABL Energy approach is referred to as a “modular multilevel inverter” and is widespread in high-voltage direct current transmission. STABL Energy was the first company to optimize it for battery storage systems. Here the sinus voltage is simulated by connecting the individual battery modules one after the other in series. The step voltage generated in this way is much more similar to the desired grid voltage than that of conventional inverters. This means that the line filter can be smaller and losses are minimized.

Lossless balancing

Balancing konventionell
Balancing STABL

In conventional electricity storage systems, the weakest cell determines the storage system's performance. With increasing use, the maximum capacities of the battery cells drift apart and so the cell with the lowest capacity determines the capacity with which the remaining cells can be charged. The capacities can be redistributed through so-called balancing - but this costs energy and causes further losses.

With the modular approach from STABL Energy, the weakest cells no longer have an effect on the entire storage system, but only on the module level. Furthermore, the modules are charged and discharged depending on their individual state of charge, so that the states of charge of the modules automatically align with one another. This allows you to get more energy out of your storage and use it longer than conventional storage.

Proof of function

In a master's thesis at the Technical University of Munich, the efficiency of our modular design was tested and compared to that of a conventional inverter.

The results show a very high efficiency of our approach with up to 99.4%. Compared to a conventional central inverter, higher efficiencies were found over the entire power range, which is mainly due to the significantly lower switching voltages and frequencies. Instead of switching the entire voltage of a high-voltage pack, with STABL technology, the alternating voltage is generated by dynamically connecting and disconnecting battery modules with low switching voltages. Another advantage of the STABL technology is the significantly lower total harmonic distortion (THD) before filtering. The values ​​achieved make it possible to install smaller, cheaper and more efficient filters.

The high conversion efficiency affects the efficiency of the entire storage system, thus reducing the cost of electricity (LCOE) and enabling an earlier and higher return on investment.

Vergleich Effizienzkennlinien

Further advantages, possible uses & outlook

Deep battery analytics

The STABL modules can measure the battery modules during operation and automatically save the data in the STABL Cloud. STABL Energy generates the most precise data on health status, temperature, current and voltage in real time and thus helps battery manufacturers to monitor the performance of their cells. For example, battery manufacturers can discover defects in certain batches or find out which external circumstances have which effects on the cells. Insurers also benefit from this data, as the data enable reliable risk assessment and insurance and reinsurance companies can use it to design attractive insurance policies.

Modul STABL

Second-Life ability

Rack mit Second-Life Batterien

Returns from used vehicle batteries will pose a major economic and environmental challenge. In fact, batteries from electric cars are deemed unsuitable as soon as they contain 80 % of their original capacity. But these batteries are still well suited for stationary systems and it is estimated that they can be operated for up to ten years. With the modularity of STABL Energy inverters, second-life storage systems can be operated more efficiently and cheaply than with conventional inverters.

Diverse fields of application

Our inverter can output any imaginable output voltage, including DC voltage. Thanks to its software-defined function, we enable storage integrators to simplify their product portfolio and open up different markets with one and the same hardware. In an electric car, it is even possible to charge the battery and operate the engine with the same power electronics.

Zeichenfläche 2

AC and DC charging

Electric vehicles powertrain

Use in many countries

Have we sparked your interest?

More information can be found here:

Technologie

Sind Sie Mitarbeiter eines Speicherherstellers oder technikaffiner Endkunde? Erfahren Sie auf dieser Seite mehr über die Technologie der STABL Energy-Wechselrichter und laden Sie noch heute unser White Paper herunter.

Die Wechselrichter Technologie von STABL Energy

Wechselrichter von STABL Energy sind mehr als nur eine Komponente eines Batteriespeichersystems. Durch den neuartigen modularen Ansatz vereinfachen sie das Design von Stromspeichern und ermöglichen eine günstige nachhaltige Energieversorgung für Gewerbe und Industrie. Im Vergleich zu konventionellen Produkten werden die Energieverluste um bis zu 70 % reduziert und die Betriebskosten um 40 % gesenkt – und das alles bei nahezu gleichen Investitionskosten. Erfahren Sie hier mehr über die Technologie und was hinter den preisgekrönten Wechselrichtern steckt.

Hochvolt-Ansatz
STABL Ansatz

Herkömmliche Stromspeichersysteme bestehen aus einem Hochvolt-Batteriepack und einem zentralen Wechselrichter. Mehrere fest miteinander verschaltete Module bilden das Batteriepack, das lebensgefährliche Spannungen von bis zu 800 V haben kann. Der zentrale Wechselrichter formt diese Gleichspannung in für das Netz taugliche Wechselspannung um und schließt so den Speicher an das Stromnetz an. Dabei entstehen Energieverluste, die dem Betreiber Geld kosten und außerdem den CO2-Ausstoß erhöhen.

Mit der Wechselrichter Technologie von STABL Energy vereinfacht sich der Aufbau von Stromspeichern erheblich. Statt die Module statisch miteinander zu verschalten, werden sie durch unsere STABL Module dynamisch miteinander verschaltet. Der Stromspeicher ist ein Konglomerat aus absolut sicheren Batteriemodulen, die berührsichere Spannungen von unter 60 V vorweisen. Durch diesen Ansatz wird der zentrale Wechselrichter überflüssig. Im Vergleich zu herkömmlichen Systemen werden Verluste um bis zu 70 % reduziert und sowohl Betriebskosten als auch der CO2-Ausstoß um bis zu 40 % pro Jahr verringert.

Die Vorteile der STABL–Technologie

Effizienz

In wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten der TU München wurde die hohe Effizienz des STABL Wechselrichters von bis zu 99,6 % ermittelt. Gegenüber herkömmlichen Wechselrichtern werden Verluste um bis zu 70 % reduziert.

Geld sparen

Durch die hohe Effizienz sparen Sie sich bares Geld. Je nach Anwendungsfall können Sie durch Verwendung von Stromspeichern mit STABL Wechselrichtern Ihre Betriebskosten um bis zu 40 % reduzieren und erreichen Ihren Break-even früher als mit anderen Systemen.

Nachhaltigkeit

Weniger Energieverluste heißt auch, dass die vorhandene Energie besser genutzt wird. Dadurch, dass Verluste um bis zu 70 % reduziert werden, wird bei jedem Speichervorgang CO2 gespart und Sie und Ihr Betrieb nehmen aktiv an der Energiewende teil – und sparen dabei auch noch Geld.

Sicherheit

Mit Wechselrichtern von STABL Energy werden Stromspeicher sicher. Die berührsichere Spannung von unter 60 V macht Installation und Wartung kinderleicht.

Ausfallsicherheit

Der modulare Ansatz garantiert eine nahezu vollständige Verfügbarkeit. Unsere STABL Module detektieren automatisch, wenn ein Batteriemodul vom Normalzustand abweicht und können es vom Rest des Speichers isolieren. So muss wegen eines defekten Moduls nicht der ganze Speicher heruntergefahren werden, sondern kann weiterhin betrieben werden.

Cloud Architecture

Wechselrichter von STABL Energy sind intelligent und zukunftsweisend. Unsere In-House entwickelte Software ermöglicht Over-the-air-Updates und gibt Ihnen zu jederzeit Einblicke bis auf Zellebene.

Funktionsprinzip

Sinus konventionell
Sinus STABL

Normale Batterie-Wechselrichter schalten die hohe Spannung des Stromspeichers unterschiedlich lange zu und ab. Diesen Prozess nennt man Pulsweitenmodulation. Die resultierende Spannung muss durch einen sogenannten Netzfilter geglättet werden, damit sie den Normen und Anforderungen des Stromnetzes entspricht. Das kostet Effizienz und verursacht Verluste.

In der Wissenschaft wird der Ansatz von STABL Energy als “modularer Multilevel Wechselrichter” bezeichnet und ist in der Hochvolt-Gleichstromübertragung weit verbreitet. STABL Energy hat ihn als erste Firma für Batteriespeichersysteme optimiert. Hier wird die Sinus-Spannung nachgebildet, indem die einzelnen Batteriemodule nacheinander in Serie verschalten werden. Die so generierte Stufenspannung ähnelt der gewünschten Netzspannung viel mehr als die von gewöhnlichen Wechselrichtern. Dadurch kann der Netzfilter kleiner ausfallen und die Verluste werden minimiert.

Verlustfreies Balancing

Balancing konventionell
Balancing STABL

Bei konventionellen Stromspeichern bestimmt die schwächste Zelle die Performance des Speichers. Mit zunehmender Benutzung driften die maximalen Kapazitäten der Batteriezellen auseinander und so bestimmt die Zelle mit der geringsten Kapazität die Kapazität, mit der die restlichen Zellen aufgeladen werden können. Durch sogenanntes Balancing können die Kapazitäten zwar umverteilt werden – das kostet aber Energie und verursacht weitere Verluste.

Mit dem modularen Ansatz von STABL Energy wirken sich die schwächsten Zellen nicht mehr auf den ganzen Speicher aus, sondern nur noch auf die Modulebene. Des Weiteren werden die Module je nach Ihrem individuellen Ladezustand ge- und entladen, sodass sich die Ladezustände der Module automatisch aneinander angleichen. Dadurch können Sie mehr Energie aus Ihren Speicher herausholen und sie so länger nutzen als herkömmliche Speicher.

Funktionsnachweis

In einer Masterarbeit an der TU München wurde die Effizienz unseres modularen Designs getestet und der eines herkömmlichen Wechselrichters gegenübergestellt.

Die Ergebnisse zeigen eine sehr hohe Effizienz unseres Ansatzes mit bis zu 99,4 %. Im Vergleich zu einem konventionellen zentralen Wechselrichter zeigten sich über den gesamten Leistungsbereich höhere Effizienzen, was hauptsächlich auf die wesentlich geringeren Schaltspannungen und -frequenzen zurückzuführen ist. Statt die gesamte Spannung eines Hochvolt-Packs zu schalten, wird bei der STABL Technologie die Wechselspannung durch dynamisches Zu- und Abschalten von Batteriemodulen mit geringer Spannung erzeugt. Ein weiterer Vorteil der STABL Technologie sind die wesentlich geringeren gesamten harmonischen Verzerrungen (THD) vor Filterung. Die erreichten Werte ermöglichen es, kleinere, billigere und effizientere Filter zu verbauen.

Die hohe Umwandlungseffizienz wirkt sich auf den Wirkungsgrad des gesamten Speichers aus und verringert so die Stromgestehungskosten (LCOE) und ermöglicht so einen früheren und höheren Return on Investment.

Vergleich Effizienzkennlinien

Weitere Vorteile, Einsatzmöglichkeiten & Ausbick

Deep battery analytics

Die STABL Module können die Batteriemodule während des Betriebs vermessen und speichern die Daten automatisiert in der STABL Cloud. STABL Energy generiert genaueste Daten zu Gesundheitszustand, Temperatur, Strom und Spannung in Echtzeit und hilft so Batterieherstellern, die Performance Ihrer Zellen zu überwachen. Zum Beispiel können Batteriehersteller Fehler in bestimmten Chargen entdecken oder herausfinden, welche äußeren Umstände welche Effekte auf die Zellen haben. Auch Versicherer profitieren von diesen Daten, da die Daten eine belastbare Risikobewertung ermöglichen und Versicherungen und Rückversicherungen damit attraktive Versicherungspolicen entwerfen können.

Modul STABL

Second-Life Fähigkeit

Rack mit Second-Life Batterien

Rückläufer gebrauchter Fahrzeugbatterien werden eine große Herausforderung für die Wirtschaft und Umwelt darstellen. Tatsächlich werden Batterien aus Elektroautos für untauglich befunden, sobald sie noch 80 % der ursprünglichen Kapazität beinhalten. Doch für stationäre Systeme sind diese Batterien noch gut geeignet und können Schätzungen zufolge noch bis zu zehn Jahre lang betrieben werden. Mit der Modularität der STABL Energy-Wechselrichter Technologie können Second-Life-Speicher effizienter und günstiger betrieben werden als mit herkömmlichen Wechselrichtern.

Vielfältige Einsatzmöglichkeiten

Unser Wechselrichter kann jede erdenkliche Ausgangsspannung ausgeben, auch Gleichspannung. Dank seiner software-definierten Funktion ermöglichen wir es Speicherintegratoren, ihr Produktportfolio zu vereinfachen und verschiedene Märkte mit ein und derselben Hardware zu erschließen. Im Elektroauto ist es sogar möglich, mit derselben Leistungselektronik die Batterie zu laden und den Motor zu betreiben.

Zeichenfläche 2

AC und DC Laden

Elektrofahrzeuge Antriebsstrang

Einsatz in vielen Ländern

Haben wir Ihr Interesse geweckt?

Mehr Informationen finden Sie hier: