FAQ

Do you have a question? We are always happy to help.

About STABL Energy

Paving the way for a net-zero energy system with safe, reliable, and sustainable battery storage.

STABL Energy strives for sustainable energy use with its inverter technology. Our goal is to increase the use of renewable energies with the help of energy storage. We do this by setting a new standard for battery storage. With our easy-to-integrate technology, we improve the design, safety, reliability, cost efficiency and handling of battery storage.

Our power conversion system also allows seamless and easy integration of used car batteries, which extends the lifetime of batteries and reduces their resource consumption. Thus, STABL Energy enables the most profitable and sustainable battery systems.

Normal battery inverters switch the high voltage of the power storage unit on and off for different lengths of time. This process is called pulse width modulation. The resulting voltage must be smoothed by a so-called grid filter so that it complies with the standards and requirements of the electricity grid. This costs efficiency and causes losses.

In science, STABL Energy's approach is called a "modular multilevel inverter" and is widely used in high-voltage DC transmission. STABL Energy was the first company to optimise it for stationary battery storage systems. Here, the sinusoidal voltage is simulated by connecting the individual battery modules in series one after the other. The step voltage generated in this way resembles the desired mains voltage much more than that of ordinary inverters. This means that the grid filter can be smaller and losses are minimised.

STABL Energy emerged from research projects at the Technical University of Munich, the University of the Federal Armed Forces Munich and the Osnabrück University of Applied Sciences. The company was founded in January 2019 as m-Bee GmbH and renamed STABL Energy in July 2020. STABL Energy hired its first employee in spring 2020 and has since grown steadily to now have 14 permanent and 13 part-time employees.

After initial funding through the EXIST programme of the Federal Ministry of Economics and Culture, STABL Energy was able to finance itself through several investment rounds and grants.

The founders of STABL Energy already know each other from their student days. Arthur and Martin were involved in the initial underlying research project, Nam and Arthur have known each other since the first day of their electrical engineering studies and Christoph worked together with Nam in a student consultancy. These long friendships laid the foundation for a business venture together and form the basis of the corporate culture at STABL Energy.

STABL is pronounced like the English word "stable".

[ˈsteɪbl̩]

You can find an example here.

Product and technology

STABL Energy is developing a novel inverter technology that replaces the conventional central inverter for storage integrators and EPCs.

Our first product is the STABL SI100 - a modular multilevel inverter for stationary commercial and industrial storage systems.

Battery storage can be used in many different applications, such as increasing self-consumption and capping peak loads.

You can find an insight into why battery storage can be attractive for companies in our blog article:

Why battery storage for businesses may be worthwhile in 2021.

STABL Energy only develops the technology and the modular inverter. This is then sold by our partners in conjunction with battery storage systems. Thus, STABL Energy does not sell its inverters directly to end customers.

Are you a project developer for battery storage systems and would like to offer STABL inverters in the future? Or are you looking for one of our partners to purchase a battery storage system with STABL technology?

You can contact us at any time and we will be happy to help you.

Second life batteries are batteries that have reached the end of their "first life", e.g. in the mobility sector. Classically, this happens when they can only provide 80 % of their original capacity. For stationary applications as electricity storage, however, these batteries can still be usable for a long time - and thus still offer added value in their "second life".

STABL Energy makes this profitable for the first time, as the Second Life batteries do not have to be processed and matched to each other as was previously the case, but our modular system architecture enables batteries of different states to be interconnected.

You can gain deeper insights into this in our Whitepaper.

An inverter is a device that converts direct current into alternating current and vice versa.

A battery in itself can only deliver direct current. This results from a DC voltage between the positive and negative terminals. However, thanks to Nikola Tesla, the power grid is based on alternating current or alternating voltage, i.e. a current that changes direction at a certain frequency (50 Hz in Europe).

The aim of every inverter is to generate a grid-compliant sinusoidal voltage from the battery's DC voltage and vice versa. Basically, an inverter is comparable to the power supply unit for a smartphone, with the difference that the battery inverter can also feed energy from the battery into the grid.

Would you like to learn more about the processes in a battery storage system?

For more information, see our blog article:

How does a battery storage system work?

Unfortunately not. At the moment, we only offer solutions for commercial & industrial and utility-scale storage systems.

Another question?

Do you have a question that you cannot find an answer to here?

Please contact us - we will be happy to help you.

FAQ

Sie haben eine Frage? Wir helfen jederzeit gerne weiter.

Über STABL Energy

Wir ebnen den Weg zu einem Net-Zero Energiesystem mit sicheren, zuverlässigen und nachhaltigen Batteriespeichern.

STABL Energy strebt mit seiner Wechselrichtertechnologie eine nachhaltige Energienutzung an. Unser Ziel ist es, den Einsatz erneuerbarer Energien mithilfe von Energiespeichern zu erhöhen. Das tun wir, indem wir einen neuen Standard für Batteriespeicher setzen. Mit unserer leicht integrierbaren Technologie verbessern wir das Design, die Sicherheit, Zuverlässigkeit, Kosteneffizienz und Handhabung von Batteriespeichern.

Unsere Wechselrichter ermöglichen außerdem die nahtlose und einfache Integration von gebrauchten Fahrzeugbatterien, womit wir den Ressourcenverbrauch der Energiespeicher senken und deren Lebensdauer verlängern. So ermöglicht STABL Energy die günstigsten und nachhaltigsten Batteriespeicher.

Normale Batteriewechselrichter schalten die hohe Spannung des Stromspeichers unterschiedlich lange zu und ab. Diesen Prozess nennt man Pulsweitenmodulation. Die resultierende Spannung muss durch einen sogenannten Netzfilter geglättet werden, damit sie den Normen und Anforderungen des Stromnetzes entspricht. Das kostet Effizienz und verursacht Verluste.

In der Wissenschaft wird der Ansatz von STABL Energy als “modularer Multilevel Wechselrichter” bezeichnet und ist in der Hochvolt-Gleichstromübertragung weit verbreitet. STABL Energy hat ihn als erste Firma für stationäre Batteriespeichersysteme optimiert. Hier wird die Sinus-Spannung nachgebildet, indem die einzelnen Batteriemodule nacheinander in Serie verschalten werden. Die so generierte Stufenspannung ähnelt der gewünschten Netzspannung viel mehr als die von gewöhnlichen Wechselrichtern. Dadurch kann der Netzfilter kleiner ausfallen und die Verluste werden minimiert.

STABL Energy entstand aus Forschungsprojekten der Technischen Universität München, der Universität der Bundeswehr München und der Hochschule Osnabrück. Gegründet wurde die Firma im Januar 2019 als m-Bee GmbH, wobei sie im Juli 2020 in STABL Energy umbenannt wurde. Den ersten Mitarbeiter stellte STABL Energy im Frühling 2020 ein und wuchs seit dem stetig auf inzwischen 14 Festangestellte und 13 Teilzeitkräfte an.

Nach einer initialen Finanzierung über das EXIST Programm des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Kultur konnte sich STABL Energy durch mehrere Investitionsrunden und Fördermittel finanzieren.

Die Gründer von STABL Energy kennen sich bereits aus ihrer Studienzeit. Arthur und Martin waren an dem initial zugrundeliegenden Forschungsprojekt beteiligt, Nam und Arthur kennen sich seit dem ersten Tag ihres Elektrotechnikstudiums und Christoph arbeitete gemeinsam mit Nam in einer studentischen Unternehmensberatung. Diese langen Freundschaften legten den Grundstein einer gemeinsamen Unternehmung und bilden das Fundament der Unternehmenskultur bei STABL Energy.

STABL wird wie das englische Wort “stable” ausgesprochen.

[ˈsteɪbl̩]

Ein Beispiel findest du hier.

Produkt und Technologie

STABL Energy entwickelt eine neuartige Wechselrichtertechnologie, die den konventionellen zentralen Wechselrichter ersetzt für Speicherintegratoren und EPCs.

Unser erstes Produkt ist der STABL SI100 – ein modularer Multilevel-Wechselrichter für stationäre Gewerbe- und Industriespeichersysteme.

Ein Batteriespeicher kann in vielerleich Anwendungsbereichen, wie zum Beispiel Eigenverbrauchserhöhung und Lastspitzenkappung, zum Einsatz kommen.

Einen Einblick, wieso ein Batteriespeicher für Unternehmen attraktiv sein kann, findest du in unserem Blog Artikel:

Weshalb sich Strom­speicher für Gewerbe in 2021 lohnen können.

STABL Energy entwickelt lediglich die Technologie und den Modularen Wechselrichter. Dieser wird dann von unseren Partnern in Verbindung mit Batteriespeichersystemen vertrieben. Somit vertreibt STABL Energy seine Wechselrichter nicht direkt an Endkunden.

Sind sie Projektierer für Batteriespeichersysteme und wollen in Zukunft STABL Wechselrichter anbieten? Oder sind Sie auf der suche nach einem unserer Partner, um ein Batteriespeichersystem mit STABL Technologie zu erwerben?

Nehmen Sie jederzeit Kontakt auf und wir helfen Ihnen gern weiter.

Second Life Batterien sind Batterien, die das Ende ihres “ersten Lebens”, z.B. im Mobilitätssektor, erreicht haben. Klassischerweise passiert dies, wenn sie nur noch 80 % der ursprünglichen Kapazität bereitstellen können. Für stationäre Anwendungen als Stromspeicher können diese Batterien jedoch noch lange nutzbar sein – und so in ihrem “zweiten Leben” noch einen Mehrwert bieten.

STABL Energy macht dies erstmals rentabel, da die Second Life Batterien nicht wie bisher aufwendig Aufbereitet und aufeinander Abgestimmt werden müssen, sondern unsere modulare Systemarchitektur ein Verschalten von Batterien verschiedenster Zustände ermöglicht.

Tiefere Einblicke hierzu erhalten Sie in unserem Whitepaper.

Ein Wechselrichter ist ein Gerät, das Gleichstrom in Wechselstrom umwandelt und umgekehrt.

Eine Batterie an sich kann nur Gleichstrom abgeben. Dieser resultiert aus einer Gleichspannung zwischen Plus- und Minuspol. Das Stromnetz basiert dank Nikola Tesla jedoch auf Wechselstrom bzw. Wechselspannung, das heißt einen Strom, welcher mit einer bestimmten Frequenz (50 Hz in Europa) die Richtung ändert.

Ziel eines jedes Wechselrichters ist es also, aus der Gleichspannung der Batterie eine netzkonforme Sinusspannung zu erzeugen und umgekehrt. Im Grunde genommen ist ein Wechselrichter also vergleichbar mit dem Netzteil für das Smartphone mit dem Unterschied, das der Batteriewechselrichter auch Energie aus der Batterie ins Netz speisen kann.

Wollen Sie mehr über die Abläufe in einem Batteriespeicher erfahren?

Weitere Informationen finden Sie in unserem Blog Artikel:

Wie funktioniert ein Batterie­speicher?

Leider nein. Wir entwickeln unsere Lösung derzeit nur für mittlere und größere Gewerbeanwendungen und Großspeicher.

Eine andere Frage?

Sie haben eine Frage, zu der Sie hier keine Antwort finden?

Nehmen sie Kontakt zu uns auf – wir helfen gerne weiter.